Home > 911SC, Engine, Exhaust, Projects > Engine and Trans Rebuild Underway – Update 19 September 2012

Engine and Trans Rebuild Underway – Update 19 September 2012

September 19, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

UPDATE – 19th September 2012

Big day today.  Had the phone call from Phil that the motor and gearbox was ready to install.  I couldn’t organise the tow truck quick enough.  Looking at the motor I remembered back to earlier days, seeing work like this and dreaming that one day I’d be putting one of those into my car.  About a week from now I hope to be driving it.

 

UPDATE – 27th August 2012

Nearly nearly nearly….  This is the most exciting part of the whole project.  The motor and gearbox is virtually finished.  Get ready for another update in mid September.  I expect that this will be photos and videos of the complet and running car.  27 months in the making.

Just needs carbs and muffler

I’ve seen so many nice engines – it’s hard to believe mine is one of them…

UPDATE – 22nd May 2012

Bottom end together

Stay focused. Look at the engine…..

Some time has passed since updating this post but there is definitely some major progress being made.  It’s now a race to have the bodywork finished so I can re-assemble and get down to the mechanic for the install.

As you can see from the pics the assembly process is still in it;s early days but all the prep work is pretty much done.  Bottom end is assembled – fortunately the crank and case were OK.  One of the bearings was on the way out but we caught it in time and according to the mechanic it is now ‘perfect’.  These are words I definitely want to hear!

Rods have had their treatment which included balancing, de-dagging and shot peening.  New head studs are in and it’s now ready to have the cylinders and pistons fitted.  Heads have been machined and flycut and new valves ordered.  Heads are machined with a slight relief which the mechanic says significant aids the heat control, resulting in a much more durable engine.  I’m sure the explanantion ss far more technical than that but for now that’s all I really know about it.

As far as the transmission goes the main bearing was fairly loose which means the casing was worn.  This resulted in a worn bearing retaining plate which in turn damaged the pinion gear.  All this leads to a possible replacement box but I really wanted to keep a matching numbers car so the solution was to machine out the case, press in a sleeve, replace the retaining plate and pinion shaft and away we go.  In the end we sourced a good used box and did a bit of mix and match.  As well as this all new consumables are on order – in particular the 1st gear dog teeth were shot, only about 2/3 were still there (that explains the dodgey shifting from 1st to 2nd).  This all adds to the cost but my 915 will be as good as new very soon.

Some replated hardware

More replated hardware

Sealing kit

Heads ready to go on

915 undergoing open heart surgery

Another angle of the bottom end

ORIGINAL POST – 9th DECEMBER 2011

Now we are getting to the business end…..  Had the car towed to the mechanic on Dec 2nd and returned later that day ‘sans’ engine and gearbox.

The brief for my mechanic is to pull it all apart, replace what needs replacing and refinish pretty much everything.  I supplied all my parts that have been collected over the last 18 months.  What I am expecting is a very tidy looking new 3.2SS.  With 46mm PMO’s it should sound superb.  In the end I decided to ditch the dual out Dansk Sport in favour of a single outlet.  The look is more understated plus I like the idea of not p!ssing off the neighbours – last thing I need is a trip to the EPA for a dB test.

Gearbox will also get some TLC.  Whatever needs doing will happen but it will be interesting to see the state of the internals.  Shifting was OK but I know there’s  going to be some new bits going in.

Aside from the mechanical aspects both the engine and transmission will be cleaned up and various parts replated, powdercoated or painted.  I’ve seen a few of Phil’s jobs and I’m expecting this to look pretty special, as well as perform the same.

Categories: 911SC, Engine, Exhaust, Projects
  1. Larry
    October 5, 2013 at 6:12 am

    Great looking motor! Did you end up running 10.5:1 pistons with single plus ignition? If so, what octane fuel are you running? Any issues at high revs?

    • October 7, 2013 at 8:58 am

      Thanks for the message Larry. Yes – I am running 10.5:1 with single plug. Prior to the build I have several comments from US telling my that I’d need to run twin plug. My mechanic here in Australia assured me that it wasn’t necessary for our fuels. He has built many of these motors without issue. I run 98RON (no ethanol) fuel which is readily available at nearly all petrol stations locally. I think running less than 98 (or at least 95) might be a problem, but with 98 there is no issue with single plug running the engine up to approx 6500rpm. I don’t rev it higher than that as it’s only a street car. I had it dyno tuned as well. Hope this helps.

  2. Larry
    October 10, 2013 at 7:08 am

    Thanks for the info! My plan is to run E85 ethanol as it averages 105 octane, but the fuel maps or carburetor tuning would be solely for this fuel.

  3. Larry
    February 17, 2015 at 2:26 am

    What did you end up with as your final HP / TQ numbers on your build?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment