Home > 911SC, Interior > Interior Project – Update 27th August 2012

Interior Project – Update 27th August 2012

UPDATE – 27th August 2012
Well – the interior is now officially finished.  Fitting the door panels involved fixing up the mirror and central locking wiring plus also fabrivating a tempalte to cover up the old 6×9 holes in the door itself.  I’d say there was 3-4 hours in each door not including making the door panel itself.  Anyway, it’s all done and I am very happy with the level of finish for an amateur (being me!).

New carpet and dyed seats / parcel shelf

New seats at the front

All shows RSA door panels.

One finished door panel.

Not my car but these are the seats I’m using. Exposed floorboards are like mine as well – just the steering is on the wrong side in this car.

Like everything else I have completely removed the interior except the dash and it’s attached bits.  This gave me the opportunity to rethink the interior and so I made the following decisions:

  1. RS America door panels – always loved them and now I’m going to have them..
  2. Pulled the front seats to clean undeneath and they were so heavy I’m putting in R replicas
  3. New carpet – still blue but darker and more suitable for extra black bits
  4. Dyed rear seats and door tops black (from navy blue)
  5. Remove the old 6×9’s in the door and replace with 6.25 = much nicer looking and sounding

More pics but also more text below:

Carpet cut and bound

Love it or hate it – these are carpet covered rear door panels.  For that luxurious touch 🙂

Some seals and seat belt action..

Dyed rear seat back plus some bumper trim and engine seal

The door panels came up well.  I made them up using a template, some 3mm MDF and a jigsaw.  After they were cut I sprayed with 3 light coats of clear 2 pack – excessive maybe but I had the paint so it was really no cost to me.  Now I know they are waterproof!

I’ll be using the red nylon pulls but also bought black in case the red was a bit too bright.  At the moment I’m loving the red.

Seats are Cobra R replicas.  They are new and I have all new sliders and brackets.  I bought these from a very nice fellow Porshce enthusiast.  I’m really happy and can’t wait to install them.  They are immensely lighter than the electric ones I had.

I had some carpet from when I redid the front mats.  The new carpet is darker (more midnight blue) than what was in there.  I am going to a predominantly black interior.  Fashion police will tell you blue and black don’t match but I like this combo.

I dyed the rear seats and door tops black.  I used the same product to do the hard plastics such as door locks and interior door handle bezels.  The result is excellent and it all looks new.  The rear parcel shelf has also been dyed.

When re-covering the rear side panels I decided carpet was a nice option.  I’ve seen this before and I think it looks good.  The kids decided it would be nicer for them – as they are pretty much the only ones small enough to fit back there anyway.

In the pics you’ll see how it’s come up.  Everything is pretty much ready to fit – just need a painted car back in my possession!  As a side point you’ll see some external rubbers that have been reconditioned.  I’m very happy with these as well.

Categories: 911SC, Interior
  1. Sean Gibbons
    March 28, 2014 at 6:39 am

    I was looking through your page and thought it was funny to see a picture of my car’s interior as the one with the steering wheel on the wrong side. Nice work on your car.

    • March 28, 2014 at 8:42 am

      Thanks for the comment – and the ideas for a really nice looking interior. Hope your car is going well!

  2. September 30, 2016 at 4:24 am

    Hi, just noticed you have installed seat belts in the rear of your SC. I’m just starting a back date/ refurb project on my 1979 SC and need to get some rear seat belts fitted. Where did you manage to get the belts from? Thanks Shaun

    • October 3, 2016 at 3:47 pm

      Hi Shaun. I got mine done by Hemco (hemco.com.au). They were very good and assuming you are local I would recommend them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment